All Good

2 Mar

image

Just a quick check-in.  All done in about an hour total.  Stayed awake through it, made jokes, had fun.  In the recovery room now with my crackers and water.

7 Responses to “All Good”

  1. Kris, in New England March 2, 2012 at 11:18 AM #

    Glad to hear you are joking around already. That whole stay awake thru it business is just … wrong.

    They wanted to keep me twilighted for my hip replacement. I was assured that I would not remember anything. I pointed out that for my surgery they would have a Home Depot Table in the operating room and I did NOT want to take the risk of hearing anything and – remembering. Since hip replacements mean the removal of bone…you can imagine the tools they use. Straight from the small power tools aisle at your local hardware store.

  2. Buck March 2, 2012 at 12:28 PM #

    Cool. I think stayin’ awake through anything other than major, major surgery (see Kris, above) is the best course of action.

    The FIRST thing I asked for in the recovery room was COFFEE… and lots of it. The folks at Roosevelt General rapidly complied, to their everlasting credit. Crappy coffee, though

  3. Jean March 2, 2012 at 2:48 PM #

    aw, geez. Awake? ew.
    Glad it went well, though. May the recovery be quick and with access to good pain meds that you won’t need for long.

  4. Andy March 2, 2012 at 3:17 PM #

    Hell, I worked through a whole 8 1/2 hour shift yesterday asleep.

    Awake during surgery?

    Screw that! Unless the anesthesia chick was extremely hot…

    Glad it went well, The Other Andy. Seriously.

  5. Andy March 2, 2012 at 3:19 PM #

    BTW, Bitchin’ socks! Loves me the color. Been looking for some just like that, but my The WalMart is out of ‘em here.

  6. pappybro March 2, 2012 at 8:24 PM #

    Way cool. I’m happy to see you made it out in one (relative) piece.

    When I had to go in for the elbow repair, I wanted to be awake for it. They were going to do it with a nerve block. I told them them that it weren’t workin’ as they cut me open – out came the gas mask and dreamland.

    I was sort-of awake for the plate and screws and the staples though. And the off-the-wall conversation with the surgery team.

    I gots socks like that too. All the cool clumsy kids have them.

  7. Gray March 2, 2012 at 8:55 PM #

    I was awake on a spinal block for a vein stripping. The doctor and nurses were fun, After the vein was tidily yanked out, the doctor held it up, dripping, and said: “Here’s the thing that was causing you all the trouble.” We had a good larf at that.

    I’m glad you are well. This will be a good thing for you. Tell us of your progress.

Leave a Reply

